Sherry Keneson-Hall

Lois Roth Award, 2014

In recognition of her work in the Czech Republic. Keneson-Hall’s approach connects an astounding range of people and venues: from Pilsen to Prague, from a police force to the Republic’s most famous artist, with visitors from Bill Murray to Wes Anderson, and from those seeking contact with America in person to those who live online. A long list of accomplishments conveys her exceptionally creative, bold, accessible and energetic approach to cultural and educational exchange.

Michael Weider

Ilchman-Richardson Award, 2014

MikeWeider1-e1417984434144-300x255In recognition of 27 years of dedication to the goals of US cultural diplomacy. The grants process he oversees—as Division Chief of the Program Management Branch in the Executive Office of ECA/IIP—is the engine that powers ECA work and programs. He is honored for his intense commitment to the ECA mission, his mastery of complex management processes and his devotion to serving and helping his colleagues.

Dominique Benbrahim

Gill Jacot-Guillarmod Award, 2014

Dominique_BenbrahimThe second Gill Jacot‐Guillarmod Award went to Dominique Benbrahim for her work at the US Embassy in Rabat, Morocco since 1983. Over the years, she has initiated and facilitated many programs, including several on women and technology, the national tour of a theater troupe addressing corruption, and the creation of the Moroccan-American Friendship Foundation, a nation-wide association of exchange program alumni, to help them maintain contact with the U.S. and each other after their return.

Geoffrey Squires

Persian Translation Prize, 2014

For his volume entitled Hafez: Translations and Interpretations of the Ghazals (Miami Univ. Press). In this volume Squires, who is an accomplished Irish poet and lived in Iran for three years, captures the energy and depth of the iconic poet Hafez in contemporary English without archaisms or a predetermined interpretation. It displays a supple and at times even exhilarating handling of language and form.

Royall Tyler

LRA-Tyler-e1417985767339-150x150MLA-Roth Award, 2014

For his translation of The Tale of the Heike (Viking, 2012). Tyler is at Australian National University.

Robert & Elizabeth Chandler

MLA-Roth Award, Honorable Mention, 2014

For their translation of Happy Moscow, by Andrey Platonov (New York Review Books, 2012).

Peter Cole

MLA-Roth Award, Honorable Mention, 2014

For The Poetry of Kabbalah: Mystical Verse from the Jewish Tradition (Yale Univ. Press, 2012).

Gordon M. Sayre

MLA-Roth Award, Honorable Mention, 2014

For his translation of The Memoir of Lieutenant Dumont 1715-1747: A Sojourner in the French Atlantic, by Jean-Francois-Benjamin Dumont de Montigny (Univ. of North Carolina Press, for the Omohundro Inst. of Early American History and Culture, 2012). Sayre is at the University of Oregon.

Christina E. Kramer

Christina E. Kramer

Christina E. Kramer

MLA-Roth Award, Honorable Mention, 2014

For her translation of Freud’s Sister by Goce Smilevski (Penguin, 2012).

Vladimir Molev

V.MolevDyankov Prize, 2014

For his translations of The Brief Wonderful Like of Oscar Wao, by Junot Diaz, and The Corrections, by Jonathan Franzen.