Petya Petkova

Dyankov Translation Prize, 2018

Petya Petkova was awarded the first place 2018 Dyankov Translation Award for her translation of the novel “Here I Am” by Jonathan Safran Foer (List, 2018).  Born in Sofia in 1979, Petya Petkova graduated from the National Secondary School for Classical Languages and Civilizations and holds a BA in Indian Studies from Sofia University.  Between 2010-2015, she worked as an editor at Prozoretz Publishing House. She started working as a freelance translator in 2015 and has translated books by Kurt Vonnegut, Evelyn Waugh, Kiran Desai, Indra Sinha, Ben Okri, Lawrence Norfolk, David Mitchell and Jonathan Safran Foer.

Read an interview with Petya Petkova.

Angel Igov

Dyankov Translation Prize, 2018

Angel Igov was awarded the second place Dyankov Translation Award for his translation of the novel “The Underground Railroad” by Colson Whitehead (List, 2018).  Angel Igov teaches English literature and Translation at Sofia University. He has translated into Bulgarian several novels and poetry and has published three novels and two collections of short stories of his own.  Angel has also worked as book reviewer for several print and electronic media. He was the recipient of the primary Dyankov Translation Award in 2016 for his translation of Jeremy Page’s “The Collector of Lost Things”.

Radosveta Getova

Dyankov Translation Prize, 2017

Radosveta Getova was awarded first place for the Dyankov Translation Prize for her translation of the Ian McEwan’s novel The Children Act (Colibri, 2017)This book tells the story of a High Court judge who must face her own personal regrets while presiding over a legal case involving a teenage boy who refuses life-saving medical treatment. Radosveta Getova is a graduate of Sofia University, where she studied French Philosophy and English. After working for the Sofia News as a staff translator and language editor for ten years, she moved to the UK, where she currently teaches French at the University of Southampton. Other translations by Radosveta Getova include works by Amin Maalouf and Nancy Huston (from French) as well as Ian McEwan (from English). Read and interview with Radosveta Getova.

Milena Popova

Dyankov Translation Prize, 2017

Milena Popova was awarded second place for her translation of the novel The Blazing World by Siri Hustvedt (Colibri, 2017), which details the scandal that ensues when a struggling female artist seeking recognition is betrayed by a man she hires to present her work as his own. Read an interview with Milena Popova.

Iglika Vassileva

Dyankov Translation Prize, 2016Iglika Vassileva

Iglika Vassileva was awarded first place for her translation of the John  Banville’s 1997 novel The Untouchable. This book, based largely on the life of Englishman Anthony Blunt, tells the story of an art historian who becomes a double agent working for both the Queen and the Kremlin during the height of the Cold War. Iglika Vassileva is a three-time Dyankov Translation Prize winner, having previously she been recognized for her translation of The Sea by John Banville in 2008 and for her translations of J.M. Coetzee’s Diary of a Bad Year and E.L. Doctorow’s Homer and Langely in 2011. Iglika Vassileva has also received much praise for her translations of works by celebrated English-speaking authors such as James Joyce, Virginia Woolf, Lawrence Durrell, and Walt Whitman. Read an interview with Iglika Vassileva.

Bistra Andreeva

Dyankov Translation Prize, 2016Bistra Andreeva Bulgaria

Bistra Andreeva was awarded second place for her translation of Stephan Kelman’s Pigeon English. It is the story of Harrison Opoku, an eleven-year old Ghanaian immigrant who, with his best friend, investigates the murder of a boy on the London estate where he lives. Read and interview with Bistra Andreeva.

Svetlozara Leseva

Dyankov Prize, 2015

Svetlozara LesevaSvetlozara Leseva was awarded first place for her translation of the novel In the Shadow of Banyan, by Vaddey Ratner (Hermes Press 2013). It tells the story of Raami’s struggle to survive under the Khmer Rouge. Ratner’s first novel was a New York Times bestseller and finalist for the 2013 PEN/Hemingway Award and the 2013 Book of the Year Indies Choice Award. Read an Interview with Svetlozara Leseva.

Nadezhda Rosova

Dyankov Prize, Second Place, 2015

Nadezhda RosovaNadezhda Rosova was awarded second place for her translation of Ruth L. Ozeki’s A Tale for the Time Being (Millenium 2014). It is the story of the diary of Nao—a 16-year-old Japanese schoolgirl, who declares herself a “time being”—which washes up in British Columbia many months after the great tsunami. Read an Interview with Nadezhda Rosova.

Vladimir Molev

V.MolevDyankov Prize, 2014

For his translations of The Brief Wonderful Like of Oscar Wao, by Junot Diaz, and The Corrections, by Jonathan Franzen.

Dichlieva-Krysteva, Nevena

Dyankov Prize, Second Place, 2014

For her translation of The Memory Artists, by Jeffrey Moore.