Jean-Yves Pellegrin


Prix Coindreau, 2016

Jean-Yves Pellegrin was awarded the Prix Coindreau for his magnificent translation of Richard Powers’ Orfeo (Orfeo, éditions Le Cherche Midi), the story of an aging avant-garde composer who becomes fascinated with microbiological patterns. Pellegrin’s exceptional translation rose to the challenge of conveying the nuances of an especially talented author, who has been the recipient of a National Book Award and the MacArthur “genius grant.”

Mathilde Bach

Prix Coindreau Honorable Mention, 2016

Mathilde Bach received a recognition for her translation of William Giraldi’s Hold the Dark (Aucun homme ni dieu, editions Autrement).

Hélène Hinfray

Prix Coindreau, 2015

Helene HinfrayIn recognition of her masterful translation of Bill Bryson’s At Home: A Short History of Private Life (Une histoire du monde sans sortir de chez moi, éditions Payot-Rivages). Describing the volume, Marc Chénetier writes: “There is humor, immense erudition. There is delicacy, the abolition of expected distances: in time, in space, between an American and the English place he describes, between the translator and the malicious game of intertwined tonalities. Wit, play and elegance, cultured without pretention, funny, surprising: these qualities are shared by Bill Bryson and Hélène Hinfray…. You must read this history of the world, this curious voyage, this voyage of a curious man around his room … to realize that we do not really know how to look at or interrogate the things that surround us.”

Nicholas Richard

Prix Coindreau, 2013

N_RICHARD_M_CHENETIER_2013-e1384192245820(pp_w259_h202)For his groundbreaking translation of Russell Hoban’s Riddley Walker, which he entitled Enig marcheur. Hoban, who died in December 2011, was known for the spectrum of genres in which he wrote, including a very popular children’s series. Riddley Walker, his award‐winning 1980 science fiction novel, presents a particular challenge to the translator, as its first‐person narration is conducted in a language Hoban created. Nicolas Richard has translated work by a range of American authors, including Philip K. Dick, Hunter S. Thompson, Richard Brautigan and Thomas Pynchon.

Pierre Demarty

Prix Coindreau, 2012

For his translation into French of Paul Harding’s Tinkers (French title, Les Foudroyés). This second Coindreau prize in our 2012 program year reflects the shift of the annual award ceremony in Paris from December to June.

Jacques Mailhos

Prix Coindreau, 2012

For his translation into French of environmentalist Edward Abbey’s non-fiction work, Desert Solitaire.

Laurence Viallet

Prix Coindreau, 2011

For her fine translation of The Brief, Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao, by the Dominican author Junot Diaz. This novel, which won the Pulitzer Prize in 2008, was published in France by Plon, in their Feux Croisés collection.

Serge Chauvin

Prix Coindreau, 2010

For his translations of Apex and The Colossus of New York (Gallimard), by the New York novelist and MacArthur Fellow Colson Whitehead.

France Camus‐Pichon

Prix Coindreau, 2009

For her translations of Orphans and The Dead Fish Museum (Albin), both by Charles d’Ambrosio.

Agnès Desarthe

Prix Coindreau, 2008

For her translation of Cynthia Ozick’s The Puttermesser Papers.